Not science! – More early music

Today another non-scientific entry; I’m posting a suite for viola da gamba by the French baroque composer Marin Marais, from his 5th book of pieces for the viol, Suite in g minor.

This is from a live concert many years ago I played with my good friend the Heidelberg lutenist Johannes Vogt, on the theorbo (a bass lute). I play 8 movements from the suite, broken into five files: 1. Prélude; 2. Fantasie-Allemande; 3. Sarabande-Gigue; 4. Tombeau pour Marais le Cadet; 5. Menuet-“la Géorgienne”

These recordings are copyright 2019 by Russ Hodge and Johannes Vogt.

Published by


I am a science writer at the Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine in Berlin, author of fiction and popular science books, an artist, and a professional musician who performs on the viola da gamba and Medieval and Renaissance stringed instruments. I edit manuscripts of all types and teach the full range of scientific communication skills. I am doing theoretical work in this subject - see for example

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.